Special 10

Bob Seger 1


The mid 1960's teen scene in greater Detroit benefitted greatly from the region’s teen clubs. One of the first, and initially the only one to feature music, was The Hideout, in Harper Woods, MI, which was opened in 1964 by Dave Leone and Edward “Punch” Andrews. Leone and Andrews were successful and when Andrews graduated from college, they opened a second Hideout in Southfield. Leone and Andrews also started a label, named after the club, and after releasing a poorly done promotional recording, the label debuted with a local band the called Underdogs.

While playing occasionally with another Hideout band, Doug Brown and the Omens, Bob Seger wrote a song with the Underdogs, who by this time already had released two singles on the Hideout label—which were also released nationally on Reprise in 1965 and 1966. This third 45 on Hideout was not altogether a success and to follow it up, Seger hoped the group would record something he had written on his own. This did not work out and led to Seger and other musicians he knew to record the song, East Side Story. It initially came out on Hideout and was then released on Cameo. The record did not break nationally, but did sell well. Later that year, Seger placed Sock It To Me Santa with Cameo and his solo career was established.

The first set in this early Seger overview and tribute features three of his first five singles and concludes with the B side of his first 45 for Capitol in 1968.

The second set features six cuts from his first album, and includes the mono 45 version of Ramblin’ Gamblin Man, his earliest national chart success. The set concludes with the 1969 45 from his second album, Noah, which is otherwise fairly weak compared to the earlier album.

The last set includes a track that was, at the time, only issued on 45 in Canada, with a B-side from Seger’s third album, Mongrel. Lookin’ Back is as strong as most of the other material and later became part of the Silver Bullet Band’s live shows. The other three tracks come from Mongrel and include Lucifer, the 45 track from that record. Mongrel is as strong as the first release and when it did not sell, Seger retreated to a solo acoustic album set that basically ended his contract with the label. In 1972 he reunited with Punch Andrews and recorded for his Palladium label through Reprise. In a few years he would become very popular and to me, very boring.

Very little of Bob Seger’s early work, before his gigantic mid 1970's fame, has been re-issued either on vinyl or CD. While this show is not comprehensive, it covers a good deal of his important 45s and album tracks for the Hideout, Cameo and Capitol labels. This music is a 'lost' chunk of the Detroit-high-energy rock music that fans of the Rationals, MC5 and other groups love, and it all deserves to be heard! (as in Bob Seger and The Last Heard, which is how he was originally billed on the 45's).

Set 1

  1. East Side Story
  2. Persecution Smith
  3. Chain Smokin'
  4. Heavy Music part 1
  5. Heavy Music part 2
    Bob Seger and The Last Heard
  6. Death Row
    Bob Seger System

Set 2

  1. Black Eyed Girl
  2. 2+2=?
  3. Ramblin' Gamblin Man
  4. Ivory
  5. Tales of Lucy Blue
  6. Last Song
  7. Lonely Man
  8. Innervenus Eyes
    Bob Seger System

Set 3

  1. Highway Child
  2. Lookin' Back
  3. Mongrel
  4. Lucifer
  5. Teachin Blues
    Bob Seger System


Posted on March 12, 2013 .